Washington'sCommunity and Technical Colleges

Gov. Daniel J. Evans signed the Community College Act on April 3, 1967, creating a unified system to offer an open door to every citizen, regardless of academic background or experience. Since then, the system has served more than four million students.

Our MissionWashington's Community and Technical Colleges

Our college system focuses on three primary mission areas: workforce education (training students for direct entry into a career), basic education for adults (GED®, English as a Second Language, and basic reading, math, writing skills), and academic transfer (preparing students to transfer to a four-year college or university).

The State Boardfor Community and Technical Colleges

The Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges (SBCTC) is governed by a nine-member, governor-appointed board responsible for administering the Community and Technical College Act and providing leadership and coordination for Washington state's system of 34 public community and technical colleges.

Beyond NumbersWashington Community and Technical Colleges

For the last 50 years, Washington’s community and technical colleges have been the front door to higher education — and a gateway to prosperity in the state — and throughout the Pacific Northwest region.

Get In TouchWe would love to hear from you

Share your story or drop us a line at Celebrate50Years@sbctc.edu.

Contact Us